HSV Audubon's Dinner to Honor Ecology Campers - July 2016


The Hot Springs Village Audubon Society Ecology Camp Coordinators, Teri LaBove and Josie Farrell, attended the closing ceremonies for the Arkansas Audubon Society Halberg Ecology Camp's first session on June 17, and the second session, June 24th. Josie presented invitations to the winners of our scholarships and their families to attend a Pot Luck Dinner. Our first year campers were Ben Combs, Katie Osborn, Hanna Luker, Brooke Miser and Aleah Ditto. Our second year campers were Jamie Stout, Bayley Brown and Bailey Helton. They will all be honored at the HSV Audubon, July 8th Pot Luck Dinner to be held at Valencia Townhouse Community Center. Caleb Sandage, who won a scholarship to attend the Advanced Camp, will go to Mount Eagle in northern Arkansas, in July.


Arkansas Audubon Society began the Halberg Ecology Camp in 1980, for 11 and 12 year olds, to learn about their natural environment and how to protect it. Since 1983, the HSV Audubon has offered full scholarships to local students from Jessieville, Fountain Lake and Mountain Pine Schools. HSV Audubon started with one scholarship per school and now offers up to six per year to first year campers and has also provided scholarships to senior and advanced campers who have been invited back. Any 11 or 12 year old can apply for next year's camp by going online to www.arbirds.org or by contacting Teri LaBove at (501) 915-9101, for informatuion.

Josie Farrell and Teri LaBove with Ecology Campers

Photos by Teri LaBove