History of HSV Audubon

Hot Springs Village Audubon Society (HSV Audubon) was established as an affiliate of the National Audubon Society (NAS) on April 24, 1974. National Audubon Society allowed only one chapter per county in the beginning and Garland County Audubon Society was already established. When NAS decided to establish a presence in Arkansas, HSV Audubon was allowed to become a chapter within the National organization. 

HSV Audubon Society has over 260 members. Meetings are held the 2nd Thursday of each month in Coronado Center Auditorium in Hot Springs Village, AR, bringing informative programs to the membership. Although there is no formal membership meeting in July, we do hold a potluck social for our members and to honor our sponsored Ecology campers and their families.

The club provides full scholarships for two students from each of the local schools--Fountain Lake, Jessieville, and Mountain Pine--to attend the Arkansas Audubon Society (AAS) Halberg Ecology Camp at Camp Clearfork, west of Hot Springs.  

HSV Audubon Society offers field trips throughout the year, providing birding opportunities for both novices and experts alike. Four sessions of Bird Identification classes are held every March, providing class time and field time to hone birding skills. Each December, the club participates in the Christmas Bird Count.

The attached Detailed History of HSV Audubon document provides a lot of additional information. Contents include: Organization, Bluebird Program, House & Feeder Construction & Sales, Field Trips, Bird Lists, Early Donations, Christmas Bird Count, Bird Identification Classes, Bird Seed Sales, Ecology Camp, "The Chirp", Trails, and 501(c)(3).

The attached Detailed Timeline of HSV Audubon includes the facts from the Detailed History plus additional information such as who was President that year and other facts about the history.

History of HSV Audubon

Timeline of HSV Audubon

Past Presidents of HSV Audubon

Each year, the HSV Audubon Board, chaired by the President, selects an individual member who has given exceptional service to the Hot Springs Village Audubon Society over a period of many years.

President’s Award Recipients